2020 Plan Sponsor of the Year

PLANSPONSOR is pleased to announce the 2020 Plan Sponsor of the Year finalists.

The Plan Sponsor of the Year annual awards program recognizes retirement plan sponsors that show a commitment to their participants’ financial health and retirement success. The award is given in many categories to recognize all plan types, so any plan sponsor can be eligible.

Nominations are made in the fall, finalists are announced in February, and winners are announced in June. To be considered, a sponsor must first be recommended for the award. Nominations are accepted from across the industry—including those from providers, advisers, consultants, actuaries, attorneys, third-party administrators (TPAs), employees and colleagues. All nominees are then asked to complete an online form, supplying details about the plan’s administration, participant statistics and data.

The 2020 awards have 10 categories in order to allow for the most accurate comparisons across plan types and sizes:

The finalists for each category will be announced throughout the week below. Congratulations to the 2020 Plan Sponsor of the Year finalists!


Public Defined Contribution (DC)


    Oregon Public Employees Retirement System
    Roger Smith
    Director of Oregon Public Employees Retirement System (PERS)
  • State of Alaska Retirement Systems
    Kathy Lea
    Chief Pension Officer
  • University System of Georgia
    Lisa Joe
    System Retirement Plan Manager
    Jason Culp
    Retirement Plan Manager

Nonprofit DC <$500MM


    Cobleskill Regional Hospital
    Christine Pirri
    Vice President, Nonclinical Operations
  • Denver Art Museum
    Curtis Woitte
    Deputy Director and CFO
  • HopeLab Foundation
    Dan Cawley
    Chief Operating Officer

Nonprofit DC >$500MM


    ARUP Laboratories
    Tom Topik
    Human Resources Officer
  • Lifespan
    Lisa Abbott
    Senior Vice President
  • Yale University
    Hugh Penney
    Senior Director of Compensation & Benefits

Corporate 401(k) <$25MM


    American Metals Supply
    St. Louis, Missouri
  • Fintech
    Tampa, Florida
  • Gonnella Baking
    Schaumburg, Illinois
  • Tingley Rubber Corp.
    Piscataway, New Jersey

Corporate 401(k) $25MM–$50MM


    Ace Precision Machining Corporation
    Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
  • Bohannan Huston, Inc.
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • First State Financial Corporation
    St. Clair Shores, Michigan
  • Talcott Resolution Life, Inc.
    Windsor, Connecticut
  • The SSI Group
    Mobile, Alabama

Corporate 401(k) >$50MM–$100MM


    AB Mauri Food
    St. Louis, Missouri
  • Citation Oil & Gas Corp.
    Houston, Texas
  • Novaspect
    Schaumburg, Illinois
  • Rumberger, Kirk & Caldwell
    Orlando, Florida

Corporate 401(k) >$100MM–$250MM


    Phifer Inc.
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
  • Tree Top Inc.
    Selah, Washington
  • Webcor
    San Francisco and Alameda, California
  • Yancey Bros.
    Austell, Georgia

Corporate 401(k) >$250MM–$1B


    Coca-Cola Bottlers Association
    Atlanta, Georgia
  • JTEKT North America
    Greenville, South Carolina
  • McGuire Woods LLP
    Richmond, Virginia
  • Refinitiv US LLC
    New York, New York
  • Vision Service Plan
    Rancho Cordova, California

Corporate 401(k) >$1B


    Bechtel Global Corp.
    Glendale, Arizona
  • Booz Allen Hamilton
    McLean, Virginia
  • Lenovo
    Morrisville, North Carolina
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific
    Waltham, Massachusetts

Total Retirement Offering


    Anvil Corporation
    Bellingham, Washington
  • Health Care Service Corporation
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Kinder Morgan, Inc.
    Houston, Texas
  • Martco LLC
    Alexandria, Louisiana
  • Sumitomo Machinery Corp. of America
    Chesapeake, Virginia
E_NOTICE Error in file single-awards.php at line 22: Undefined variable: pid