Seven Up to Task at Coca-Cola

July 3, 2001 ( ? The class representatives in the racial discrimination suit settled last year against The Coca-Cola Company have finalized the members of the soft drink giant?s oversight task force.

The seven-member task force, created by the settlement between Coca-Cola and workers who alleged that the company discriminated against them, will be responsible for ensuring that it complies with the settlement.

Who?s Who

The members of the task force are:

  • M. Anthony Burns , chairman of transportation services company Ryder System
  • Gilbert Casellas, president and chief executive of software development firm Q-LINX Inc
  • Edmund Cooke, Jr ., a partner of Winston & Strawn, which specializes in labor law.
  • Marjorie Fine Knowles , a Georgia State University College of Law professor
  • Bill Lann Lee , a former assistant attorney general for civil rights at the US Department of Justice
  • Rene Redwood , a consultant on diversity and organizational development

Alexis Herman , a former Secretary of Labor during Clinton administration, was named chairperson of the task force in March.

The members, who will be compensated by Coca-Cola, will serve four-year terms and provide annual reports to the court, settlement class counsel, Coca-Cola chairman and chief executive Doug Daft, and the company?s board.