Bush Names 3 PBGC Committee Members

April 15, 2002 (PLANSPONSOR.com) - President George Bush has named three members of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) Advisory Committee.

Tapped for three-year terms expiring February 19, 2005 were:

  • George M Kraw of California, to be an Employee Representative
  • Judith F Mazo of the District of Columbia, to be an Employee Representative, and
  • Mary Ann Melody Larson McDonald of California, to be a Public Representative

The committee is a seven-member body, made up of presidential appointees, representing labor, employers, and members of the general public.

Never miss a story — sign up for PLANSPONSOR newsletters to keep up on the latest retirement plan benefits news.

The committee advises the PBGC about its trusteeship of terminated defined benefit pension plans.

Funded by insurance premiums paid by covered companies and its investments, the PBGC takes over defunct or failing pension plans and continues payments to employees and beneficiaries according to federal guidelines.