Change is Coming – New Quarters

September 10, 2009 ( - Whether you are a numismatist, or just a casual coin collector, the U.S. Mint has a new line of quarters coming out.

Hot Springs National Park will be the first site featured in a line of “America the Beautiful” quarters starting next year that will feature a national park from each state and U.S. territory (the front of the coins will still feature George Washington).    


The U.S. Mint will issue five quarters each year – Hot Springs will be first, since it was the first park to receive a federal designation. The quarters will be issued in the order that the parks and sites were established as national sites.   According to a press release Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner approved the list of sites recommended by the United States Mint on August 25, 2009, after consultation with the governor or chief executive of each host jurisdiction and Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar.  

After Hot Springs, the Mint next year will issue coins commemorating:

  • Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming,
  • Yosemite National Park in California,
  • Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona and
  • Mount Hood National Forest in Oregon.   

More information is online at

Here are the states, with their images and the years in which the sites were established as federal sites.

align="center"> 2010

Arkansas, Hot Springs National Park, 1832

Wyoming, Yellowstone National Park, 1872

California, Yosemite National Park, 1890

Arizona, Grand Canyon National Park, 1893

Oregon, Mt. Hood National Forest, 1893 

align="center"> 2011

Pennsylvania, Gettysburg National Military Park, 1895

Montana, Glacier National Park, 1897

Washington, Olympic National Park, 1897

Mississippi, Vicksburg National Military Park, 1899

Oklahoma, Chickasaw National Recreation Area, 1902

align="center"> 2012

Puerto Rico, El Yunque National Forest, 1903

New Mexico, Chaco Culture National Historical Park, 1907

Maine, Acadia National Park, 1916

Hawaii, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, 1916

Alaska, Denali National Park, 1917

align="center">  2013

New Hampshire, White Mountain National Forest, 1918

Ohio, Perry's Victory and International Peace Memorial, 1919

Nevada, Great Basin National Park, 1922

Maryland, Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine, 1925

South Dakota, Mount Rushmore National Memorial, 1925   

align="center"> 2014

Tennessee, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, 1926

Virginia, Shenandoah National Park, 1926

Utah, Arches National Park, 1929

Colorado, Great Sand Dunes National Park, 1932

Florida, Everglades National Park, 1934

align="center"> 2015

Nebraska, Homestead National Monument of America, 1936

Louisiana, Kisatchie National Forest, 1936

North Carolina, Blue Ridge Parkway, 1936

Delaware, Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge, 1937

New York, Saratoga National Historical Park, 1938

align="center"> 2016

Illinois, Shawnee National Forest, 1939

Kentucky, Cumberland Gap National Historical Park, 1940

West Virginia, Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, 1944

North Dakota, Theodore Roosevelt National Park, 1946

South Carolina, Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument), 1948 

align="center"> 2017

Iowa, Effigy Mounds National Monument, 1949

District of Columbia, Frederick Douglass National Historic Site, 1962

Missouri, Ozark National Scenic Riverways, 1964

New Jersey, Ellis Island National Monument (Statue of Liberty), 1965

Indiana, George Rogers Clark National Historical Park, 1966

align="center"> 2018

Michigan, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, 1966

Wisconsin, Apostle Islands National Lakeshore, 1970

Minnesota, Voyageurs National Park, 1971

Georgia, Cumberland Island National Seashore, 1972

Rhode Island, Block Island National Wildlife Refuge, 1973

align="center"> 2019

Massachusetts, Lowell National Historical Park, 1978

Northern Mariana Islands, American Memorial Park, 1978

Guam, War in the Pacific National Historical Park, 1978

Texas, San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, 1978

Idaho, Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness, 1980

align="center"> 2020

American Samoa, National Park of American Samoa, 1988

Connecticut, Weir Farm National Historic Site, 1990

U.S. Virgin Islands, Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve, 1992

Vermont, Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park, 1992 Kansas, Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve, 1996

align="center"> 2021

Alabama, Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site, 1998