Principal’s 10th Search for 10 Best Begins

February 1, 2011 ( – The Principal Financial Group has launched its 10th annual search for The Principal 10 Best Companies for Employee Financial Security.


The program showcases the top 10 growing companies (with five to 1,000 employees) that excel at helping employees build their financial futures through excellent benefits programs.  Companies are not required to be clients of The Principal to enter or win.

According to the announcement, “an independent panel of renowned benefits experts selects the winners, who receive national recognition and acclaim as role models for other growing businesses”. Judges evaluate companies in the context of current economic conditions.

“It’s been quite a decade. We launched this recognition program just after the horrific events of 9/11 and now we enter our 10th year as the country recovers from the worst economic downturn since the great depression,” said Luke Vandermillen, vice president, The Principal. “But despite the dramatic ups and down of the past 10 years, we’ve been able find and recognize growing companies that have remained consistent in their commitment to employees. Those companies deserve the spotlight and we are honored to launch this 10th search for excellence.”

Winning companies are able to use the recognition in their marketing and recruiting efforts. They are also featured in a national best practices guide (see Principal Shares 2010 Best Practices Practices Guide).

“This recognition reinforced to our existing employees and potential recruits that Davidson Technologies offers an outstanding benefit package and is a great place to work,” said Pamela Peterson, director of human services, Davidson Technologies, Inc., one of The Principal 10 Best Companies—2010 (see Principal 10 Best Stand Firm on Benefit Commitment). “We are proud to have been selected by an independent panel of experts and we are using this accolade in our marketing efforts.”

Nomination and entry forms are available at  

Deadline for entries is April 22, 2011.  Winners will be announced in the fall of 2011.