TRIVIAL PURSUITS: Which States Rejected the 16th Amendment to the US Constitution?

April 12, 2011 ( - The 16th Amendment to the US Constitution, ratified in 1913, established the first permanent US income tax.

Of course, as a constitutional amendment, it needed to be voted on, and ratified by, three-quarters of the states, a process that, in this case took nearly four years.

Four states rejected the amendment – can you name them?

AnswerConnecticut, Florida, Rhode Island, and Utah.

For the record, two states (Pennsylvania and Virginia) never considered the measure.