TRIVIAL PURSUITS: Who Issued the Second Presidential Veto?

April 5, 2011 ( - As noted above, George Washington was the first American president to cast a presidential veto – on this day in 1792. 

Who cast the second presidential veto?

Answer:  George Washington.

President Washington exercised his veto power only one other time during his two terms in office. The second was in February 1797, when the former commanding general of the Continental Army vetoed an act that would have reduced the number of cavalry units in the army.

As for the second American president to veto legislation, that would be James Madison, who did so five times, and twice more by “pocket veto.”